Minister adds new portfolio

Minister adds new portfolio

7 months ago

Old Pauline Ben Franklin, in College 1990-96, has been a member of the NSW Legislative Council since 2015. He has held a number of ministerial and other senior appointments in the government under Premier Berejiklian and Premier Perrottet.

In August he has added NSW tourism to his ministerial responsibilities and is now Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister for the Arts, Minister for Regional Youth and Minister for Tourism. The College joins the community in congratulating him on his latest appointment.

Ben follows in a long line of Paulines who have served in the NSW Parliament. These include: John Booth (1969-74, Fellow 1984-2011), Sir Michael Bruxner KBE DSO (1901-03), Clive Evatt (1924-26), Andrew Gee (1987-90), Sir John Peden (1891-99), Dr Peter Phelps (1990-93), Andrew Refshauge (1968-70), Ewan Robinson CBE (1924-25) and Sir Vernon Treatt KBE (1915-16, 1920, Sub-Warden 1925-29).

Pictured is Her Excellency the Hon Margaret Beazley AC, Governor of NSW, administering the oath of office to the Hon Ben Franklin MLC as the new Minister for Tourism in August 2022.