Queen’s Birthday Honours

Queen’s Birthday Honours

1 year ago

The College community congratulates David George Edward Rickards, in College 1973-75, and Revd Dr James Anthony Collins, Fellow since 2015, who were awarded the Order of Australia Medal (OAM) in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

David Rickard’s award was given for service to the not-for-profit sector, and to the environment.

David has been Chair, Social Enterprise Finance Australia Partnerships Ltd, since 2016 and a director and Co-Founder, since 2011. David has also served as a volunteers in the environment and social enterprise sectors as Treasurer and Board Member; Australian Environmental Grantmakers Network (AEGN), since 2017; Trustee, Carrawa Foundation, since 2013; Board Member and Treasurer, Bush Heritage Australia, 2006-2015; and Board Member, Midlands Conservation Fund (Tasmania), since 2011. His other community roles include Board Member (Treasurer), Macquarie Community College, 2010-2019; and Trustee, Australian Museum Foundation Ltd, since 2015.

David has been active in business and finance as a member, Investment Committee, NSW Treasury Corporation, since 2017; Non-Executive Director, Zentific Investment Management (HK), since 2015; Non-Executive Director, NAOS Absolute Opportunities Company, since 2014; Non-Executive Chair, NAOS Ex-50 Opportunities Company, since 2013; Non-Executive Chair, NAOS Emerging Opportunities Company, since 2012 and Former Head of Research and Executive Director, Macquarie Bank, 1989-2013.

Father James Collins’s award was given for service to the Anglican Church of Australia.

James’s service to the Anglican Archdiocese of Sydney has most recently been as Rector, St Paul’s Anglican Church, Burwood, since 2011 and a Clerical Fellow of St Paul’s College since 2015.

Previously he served the Anglican Diocese of Tasmania as Parish Consultant and Coordinator of Ministry, South Midlands, 2008-2011; Ministry Development Officer, 2007-2011; Rector, Parish of Moonah, 2007-2011 and Enabler Parishes of Channel/Cygnet, New Norfolk, St Helens, Hamilton Break O’Day, and Brighton, 2001-2011.

James has also served the Anglican Diocese of Perth as Rector, City Beach, 1998-2000; Chaplain Curtin University, 1994-1998; and Rector/Curate/Assistant Curate in a number of parishes 1988-1994. James was Ordained a deacon in 1987 and priest in 1988.

He has been Vice President of the New South Wales Ecumenical Council since 2017 and a member since 2011. His other awards and recognition include: Westfield Local Hero Award, 2018 and Burwood Community Citizen of the Year, 2015.