Celebrating our academics!

Celebrating our academics!

3 weeks ago

The Undergraduate Community welcomed the Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Sydney, Professor Stephen Garton AM, as the guest of honour at the annual Academic Dinner on 22 March.

The Vice Chancellor addressed the gathering which filled the Hall and overflowed and was live-streamed into the JCR. The evening included the formalities of recognising the academic achievements of 2020 and those awarded University prizes, to nine Paulines, and College prizes to seven Paulines. Among the 2020 achievements for the College community there were 17 undergraduates with HD average and 90 with Distinction average.

The gathering was entertained by Mr Ernest Lam with his performance on vocal and guitar of Daniel Caesar’s R&B hit Best Part (2017).

The St Paul’s community congratulates all our high achieving students.

The prize lists:

UNIVERSITY PRIZES AND AWARDS (as notified to date)

Nathaniel Gleeson: Sydney Scholars Award 2019

Ross Johnston : Business School Student Exchange Travel Scholarship 2020; Dalyell Global Mobility Scholarship 2020; Vice-Chancellor’s Global Mobility Scholarship 2020

Adam Kadmon: Armstrong Prize in the Philosophy of Mind 2020

Benjamin Lerner: Sydney Conservatorium of Music Scholarship 2020

Mack Perry: Dean’s Undergraduate Academic Excellence Scholarship

Peter Nicol Russell Undergraduate Scholarship in Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

William Perry: Dean’s List for Academic Excellence 2020

Joseph Scopas: University of Sydney Chancellor’s Award Scholarship 2020

Xavier Morris: Science Foundation for Physics Scholarship No II 2020

Harry Whitehead: Sydney University Business School Scholarship for Merit in Extracurricular Endeavour 2020


John-Patrick Asimakis: College Council Prize for 1st Class Honours at Graduation and University Medal for Law 2020; Dean’s List of Academic Excellence; Ian Joye Prize in Law; John George; Dalley Prize No. 1A; Nancy Gordon Smith Prize for Honours at Graduation; Sir Dudley Williams Prize

William Clarke: College Council Prize for 1st Class Honours at Graduation and University Medal for Advanced Mathematics 2019

Jake Slaytor: College Council Prize for 1st Class Honours at Graduation and University Medal for Arts (Ancient History) 2020; Britta Petzl Memorial Prize in Ancient History for best thesis by a Fourth Year Honours student

Adam Kadmon: Portus Prize In memory of Garnet Vere Portus (College 1903-04), the College’s first Rhodes Scholar awarded for exceptional examination results in History, Economic History or Philosophy

Jacob Lerner: McWilliam Prize Established through the generosity of Bruce McWilliam (College 1974-79), later a Fellow and Bursar of the College awarded for Law other than final year and for service to the College

Timothy Richmond, Uther Prize Established by a bequest from Allan Hammill Uther (College 1888-90), principal founder of the University Sports Union and Fellow of the College. Awarded for three years’ distinguished examination results and for service to the College

James T Walker: Sir Ian McFarlane Prize In memory of engineer, economist and philanthropist, Ian McFarlane (College 1941-44), a major innovator in exploration for shale oil in Australia. Awarded for exceptional results in Economics and/or Commerce and for service to the College.